2013 National Designer Award Finalists Announced

The L’Oréal Melbourne Fashion Festival is excited to announce the finalists for the 2013 National Designer Award presented by Tiffany & Co., wealth partner ANZ Private and supported by Harper’s BAZAAR. The Award acknowledges designers in their first five years of business who excel in creative design, display supreme quality, fashion innovation and unique style and demonstrate potential for growth within the industry.
From a highly competitive field of entrants, five talented finalists have been selected to personally present their work to an expert panel. The finalists for the 2013 National Designer Award are;
From Britten (VIC)
Kathryn Beker (VIC)
Livia Arena (VIC)
Lui Hon (VIC)
Michael Lo Sordo (NSW)
The judging panel includes L’Oréal Melbourne Fashion Festival Chief Executive Officer, Graeme Lewsey, Managing Director of Tiffany & Co., Glen Schlehuber, Harper’s BAZAAR Fashion Features Editor, Clare Maclean and 2012 National Designer Award winner Christopher Esber.
Graeme Lewsey was overwhelmed by the calibre of applicants for 2013 and looks forward to helping launch the career of another great designer. “The Festival is a champion of fostering emerging Australian design talent and is honoured to present this award each year. It is the country’s most esteemed fashion award and highlights the rich creative talents abundant in Australia.”
To aid their development, the winner will receive a prize package to help spearhead their label to future business success and consists of a custom designed trophy by Tiffany & Co., a cash prize of $10,000 from ANZ Private, financial and investment advisory services, legal services courtesy of K&L Gates, editorial support in Harper’s BAZAAR, a 12 month commercial subscription to WGSN and for the first time, each runner-up will also receive a $2000 cash prize from ANZ Private.
The winner will be announced at an intimate invitation only event on Wednesday March 20 at Tiffany & Co.’s Collins Street store, with a supporting installation of the finalists’ garments displayed throughout the week.

For over a decade the Festival’s National Designer Award has helped propel the careers of many Australian greats including Toni Maticevski, Josh Goot, YeojinBae, Romance Was Born and Song for the Mute.
To view more images of the finalists looks and the judging process visit our Facebook page.

Leave a Reply